Press Release Following 2022 AGM
Date of Event Scarborough Cricket Club: Thu Jun 23, 2022 2:13PM

Media Release
2022/23 Scarborough General Committee Announced

The Scarborough Cricket Club (SCC) AGM was held last week heralding the start of a new era for the Club. The AGM attracted a big turn out of Members who saw long serving Committee members Brad Havlin (Secretary) and Dave Tomlin (Senior WACA Delegate) retire. Brad and Dave both played with the Club and have worked tirelessly on the Committee during a period of success for the Gulls.

In other changes, long serving President Brendan Carvalho stood own as Club President after seven (7) years at the helm. Darren Beazley was appointed unopposed as Club President after five (5) years on the Committee, four (4) as Vice President. Beazley played for the Club during the 1990’s and was a member of the A Grade premiership in 1994/5 team who defeated Midland Guildford.

I am extremely humbled that the Members have seen fit to ask me to lead the Club at such an important time in our history. I would like to acknowledge the amazing contribution of Brendan Carvalho as President over the last 7 years. His tireless dedication to the Gulls has been wonderful and I am delighted that he will continue to serve the Club on the Committee in an extremely important position” Mr. Beazley said.

Carvalho who also played at the Club will remain on the Committee as the WACA Senior Delegate. Four (4) new Committee Members elected to the Committee, each with a strong background in the sport of cricket.

Scarborough has a proud history in the WACA Premier Cricket Competition and has faced many challenges since our commencement in 1954. We have always demonstrated tremendous resilience in the face of these challenges, and we’ll need all of that to progress at a time when COVID-19 is impacting our lives and causing so much uncertainty. I have a clear mandate to implement positive change and working with the Committee, to design and implement a clear plan that will build on the strong foundation that has been established and set up our Club for the longer term.

I am encouraging our Members to work as one and be bold in our aspirations for the future. Our approach must be selfless and ‘Club First’ as we implement plans to improve the quality of operations, to boost the quality of the cricket programme and ensure that Scarborough is a great Club to be for everyone, on and off the field” Mr. Beazley said.

The 2022/23 SCC General Committee is;

Vice President: Treasurer:
WACA Senior Delegate
: WACA Junior Delegate: Player Representative: General Committee:

Darren Beazley Mandy Rodgers David Timmins Ben Cohen Brendan Carvalho Mark Cossom Lachie Tyler Donna Connolly

Proudly supported by

General Committee: (Cont)

For further information, contact: Darren Beazley (SCC President)

E-Mail: Mobile: 0477 003 541

Bevan Tyler Mahinda Vallipuram Simon Bowman
Will Gardner

- ENDS -

Proudly supported by

Last updated: Thursday June 23, 2022 4:15PM